David Cowling – Artist Statements

The April Fools Childrenhood. Photography by Larissa Sampson

The April Fools Childrenhood. Photography by Larissa Sampson

I am a twenty-two year old loop musician who writes, records, and performs experimental folk music under the artist moniker The April Fools Childrenhood. I perform my music in the same way I write it: with an electric guitar, a loop pedal, and my voice. On stage, my shows are intimate and laidback; I aim to sit the crowd down rather than get them on their feet. In my bedroom recording studio, I typically write and record songs in a single evening, creativity springing from the improvisational collaboration between myself and the digital effects of my computer. I strive to create new unorthodox aural textures, but embrace the mastered simplicity of the four chord folk song of last century. Voices and guitar riffs are looped, pitch shifted, distorted, and soaked in reverb creating music that is melancholic, ethereal, and numbingly repetitious. My lyrics are autobiographical, reflecting on love, legacy, and life in the digital age. 2014.

