Eve Eckford – Artist Statement

playbill from A Street Car Named Desire

playbill from A Street Car Named Desire

Through my study in physical theatre training, I incorporate elements of relaxation, breathing and mind body connection to build characters and to stay present. One of my favorite modes of creation is improvisation and letting active play reveal new impulses and scenes. My most important tool and preferred medium is the body, because as an actor you rarely, if ever have anything else to rely on but yourself. While at Simon Fraser University I was involved in several plays, most of which came out of the creative process and class called “Blackbox”. A specialized collaboration course offered at SFU, where students create original pieces of theatre work throughout the semester, cumulating in 4 plays. These plays dealt with mortality, stark realities, love and loss. I would like to move into film acting because of the cameras ability to capture small moments with honesty and transparency. Regardless of what others call it, hopefully my work is full of feeling, whether it is good or bad. As performer, I never want to feel neutral and I hope to evoke the audience’s emotions in the same way. Love or hate my performances, I want the viewer to feel something.

