Jackie Torres

Jackie Torres at The Last Bookstore in Downtown Los Angeles, CA. 2013.

Jackie Torres at The Last Bookstore in Downtown Los Angeles, CA. 2013.

I am a practicing music artist in the form of performance and writing.  My inspiration for being a musician comes from my tendency to associate emotions and experiences with different tunes and sounds, more so than the other senses.  There are certain dissonances and consonances of tones that evoke different memories and feelings in different people, and I am constantly searching for more of those combinations of sound.  Having been largely influenced by choral music, I am captivated by, and try to create, harmonies that may look unconventional on paper, but sound like they were always meant to be played or sung together.  Some styles of music have strict guidelines for composition, but breaking these rules and experimenting with unusual combinations is what my style of music is all about.  My free-learning and limited theory knowledge are what drive me to find my own way to create a sound that I like, and that I think others will too.  In some of my previous work and compositions, I have experimented with using my voice as the instrument, and manipulating it with various computer technology, either to become the final project, or as part of a live and partly-improvised performance.  Whether the sounds I create remind someone of an experience they had as a child or make someone think about their future, that is how I want to connect with people.

2014

