Sacha Husband – Artist Statement

I am fascinated by the possibilities of film as a medium. We are at a time when the limits of storytelling have been expanded by filmic innovations, both technological, and performative, something that will surely yield new, and different results. As much as I am excited for the potential of film, I also sadly acknowledge that a lot of film art is becoming derivative, since the formulaic is relatable, safe, and understood. As an artist, I see it as my duty to step outside of that realm of comfort, and to use film as a means of challenging viewers rather than satiating their expectations.

My art is substantially comprised of two aspects that directly influence my process: first, the content of my work is directly related to showing dialogue and discussion between actors, and then attempting to defy an audiences expectations as to how this drives scenes. Through narrative, I write characters who discuss the underlying themes that run through everyday life that make people uncomfortable and apprehensive about the future. By seeking out these themes, I aim to place an audience member in a position of vulnerability as they confront issues that are both familiar to their lives, but unfamiliar as they don’t often get addressed.

The second aspect to my process, my visual style, compliments the stories I write as I tend to favour long takes, and extended shots to give the audience more to look at then they’re typically used to. Opposing Hollywood convention, most shots exceed a minute in length, with a short film having so few shots that they can be counted on one’s fingers. In addition, like the films of Jim Jarmusch, I visually establish my diegesis by limiting explanation of setting and characters, as I prefer to give my audience the opportunity to assume the perspective, and make those connections themselves. I treat the viewer as an equal so they can walk away challenged by the work, and also feel like they contributed to a new understanding of the film that is their own.

(2014)

Milk Rage, Wretched Man. 2014

Still from “Milk Rage” (2014), Brandon Booth DOP

