Betsy Wen – Artist Statement

In my early practice, I mainly worked with performance and photography that disturbed my viewer in various ways such as putting the artist in a vulnerable situation. Now, I focus on painting and installation projects that are subtle, silent and requires long term observation from my audience. The reason for the change is because of Giorgio Agamben’s statement, “the gesture is the exhibition of a mediality: it is the process of making a means visible as such”. It changes the concept of my art practice and I am more interested in making an artwork that opens the ethical dimension for viewers.

Untitled (Calligraphy), 2014

Untitled (Calligraphy), 2014

Untitled (2013), my first installation after reading Agamben is a rectangular water container made by wood that is placed on the floor, and a pointed rock that hangs by fishing wire. The rock just touches the surface of the water that the viewer can either observe the stillness of the hanging rock, or can give it a force in order to see the trace of movement that the rock makes on the surface of the water. Untitled (2013) helped me to explore a new concept for my artistic practice, that is, to make art that can interact with the audience and alters the audience’s visual experience. (2014)

